World’s Best Tennis Players will compete in Qatar ExxonMobil Open 2020

DOHA, The Qatar Tennis and Squash Federation (QTSF) announced on Saturday the entry list of world best tennis stars who confirmed their participation in the new edition of Qatar ExxonMobil Open 2020 will be held at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha from 6 to 11 January.

World No. 16 Stan Wawrinka leads the entry list of the 2020 Qatar Exxon Mobil Open. The 34-year-old Swiss will make his sixth appearance in the tournament but will be the lone top 20 player in the line-up of the ATP 250 Tour event held at the Khalifa International Tennis and Squash Complex in Doha from 6 to 11 January.

In the past, many of the world’s best tennis players opened their seasons in Doha, the capital and most populous city of the State of Qatar. It is one of two ATP Tour events held in the Middle East. Roger Federer, Andy Murray, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic have won multiple titles at this event, with Nadal’s haul including the 2014 singles title and four doubles crowns (2005, ’09, ’11 and ’15). Djokovic won back-to-back titles in 2016 and ’17. In last year’s singles final Roberto Bautista Agut defeated Tomas Berdych in three sets.

Doha 2020 entry list

16 Wawrinka, Stan (SUI)

23 Rublev, Andrey (RUS)

29 Tsonga, Jo-Wilfried (FRA)

31 Raonic, Milos (CAN)

38 Djere, Laslo (SRB)

40 Krajinovic, Filip (SRB)

43 Mannarino, Adrian (FRA)

47 Tiafoe, Frances (USA)

49 Verdasco, Fernando (ESP)

51 Chardy, Jeremy (FRA)

52 Sonego, Lorenzo (ITA)

54? Dolgopolov, Alexandr (UKR) PR

56 Bublik, Alexander (KAZ)

58 Bedene, Aljaz (SLO)

59 Kecmanovic, Miomir (SRB)

61 Gasquet, Richard (FRA)

63 Thompson, Jordan (AUS)

64 Andujar, Pablo (ESP)

65 Herbert, Pierre-Hugues (FRA)

66 Berankis, Ricardas (LTU)

67 Kukushkin, Mikhail (KAZ)

The Qatar ExxonMobil Open is an example of how Qatar is setting global standards for excellence across various industries and sectors. It also shines a light on the country’s position as a world-leading host of major sporting events.

Source: Qatar Olympic Committee